2020 Presidential Address

2020 Presidential Panel

Sunday, October 11, 12PM-1:30PM

2020 MESA Awards Ceremony

Immediately following the Keynote Address, please join us as we recognize the very best in Middle East studies. 


Albert Hourani Book Award
Recognizing outstanding publishing in Middle East studies.

Nikki Keddie Book Award
Recognizing exceptional scholarship in religion, revolution, and/or society.

Fatima Mernissi Book Award
Recognizing the best work in studies of gender, sexuality, and women’s lived experience.

Roger Owen Book Award
Recognizing outstanding publishing in economics, economic history, or the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa.

Malcolm H. Kerr Dissertation Awards
Recognizing exceptional achievement in research for and writing of dissertations in Middle East studies.

MESA Graduate Student Paper Prize
Recognizing achievements in research for and writing of a graduate-level paper.

MESA Mentoring Award
Recognizing exceptional contributions retired faculty have made to the education and training of others.

Jere L. Bacharach Service Award
Recognizing extraordinary service to MESA, other societies, and the field of Middle East studies.

Academic Freedom Award
Given in recognition of sustained contributions in support of academic freedom in the MENA and/or North America.

Undergraduate Education Award
Recognizing outstanding scholarship on teaching or other material contributions to undergraduate education.

====================================================================== --}

Stay Connected

MESA offers several ways to stay connected: Twitter and Facebook, as well as listservs and trusty email notifications.
To find out more, please follow the link below.

Connect Now