MESA - Middle East Studies Association

2017 Awards of Excellence

At its annual awards ceremony in Washington, DC
on Sunday, November 19
the Middle East Studies Association
announced its
2017 awards of excellence:

Jere L. Bacharach Service Award
Bassam Haddad, George Mason University

MESA Mentoring Award
Rifaat Abou El-Haj, Binghamton University, SUNY
Nancy E. Gallagher, University of California, Santa Barbara

MESA Presidential Award
Asli U. Bali

MESA Academic Freedom Award
Palestine Legal

Albert Hourani Book Award
For Love of the Prophet: An Ethnography of Sudan's Islamic State
Noah Salomon, Carleton College
Published by Princeton University Press

Roger Owen Book Award
Margins of the Market: Trafficking and Capitalism Across the Arabian Sea
Johan Mathew, Rutgers University
Published by University of California Press

Honorable Mention
Industrial Sexuality: Gender, Urbanization, and Social Transformation in Egypt
Hanan H. Hammad, Texas Christian University
Published by University of Texas Press

Malcolm H. Kerr Dissertation Award in the Humanities
Love in the Time of Syphilis: Medicine and Sex in the Ottoman Empire, 1860-1922
Seçil Yilmaz, The Graduate Center, City University of New York

Malcolm H. Kerr Dissertation Award in the Social Sciences
The Ways of Zainab: Visitations and Valuations between Iran and Syria via Turkey
Emrah Yıldız, Harvard University

Honorable Mention
Genetic Nationalism: Scientific Communities and Ethnic Mythmaking
in the Middle East

Elise K. Burton, Harvard University

Undergraduate Education Award
Lucia Volk, San Francisco State University 

Student Paper Prize
Ibn al-Jawzi and the Cursing of Yazid b. Muʿawiya: Debating Rebellion and Legitimate Rulership
Han Hsien Liew, Harvard University


 Start of Page