MESA - Middle East Studies Association

MESA Mentoring Award

The MESA Mentoring Award was established in 1995 and first given at MESA’s 1996 annual meeting. The award recognizes exceptional contributions retired faculty have made to the education and training of others.

2016 Nomination Guidelines

MESA members are invited to submit written nominations for the 2016 MESA Mentoring Award to the MESA Secretariat. Letters of nomination should detail the contributions of the retired individual as mentor/teacher. The nominator should complete the official nomination form on which he or she will provide for him or herself and the nominee the following information:

  • name
  • mailing address, city, state, zip code, country
  • telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail address

The nominator should also provide the name of two individuals who have benefited from the mentoring/teaching of the nominated individual. Letters of reference from these individuals may be submitted as well. If possible, the nominator should also append a short biographical sketch of the nominee.

Nominators are reminded that the award is intended for retired faculty who have made substantial contributions to the education and training of others.

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2016 MESA Mentoring Award is June 01, 2016. Nominations should be emailed to or mailed to: MESA Mentoring Award, Middle East Studies Association, 3542 N Geronimo Ave, Tucson AZ 85705.

Please address questions to:

Rose Veneklasen
Awards Coordinator
Middle East Studies Association
3542 N. Geronimo Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85705

520-333-2577 ext. 102
520-207-3166 (fax)

2016 Award Recipient

Richard W. Bulliet
Columbia University

See below for list of previous awardees.

Previous Awardees

2015 Jere L. Bacharach, University of Washington
Israel Gershoni, Tel Aviv University
2014 Salih J. Altoma, Indiana University
2013 Wadad Kadi, University of Chicago
2012 Charles D. Smith, University of Arizona

Clement Moore Henry, University of Texas at Austin

Ira M. Lapidus, University of California, Berkeley

2009 Robert L. Tignor, Princeton University
2008 Walter G. Andrews, University of Washington
2007 Norman Iskowitz, Princeton University
2006 William Cleveland (posthumously), Simon Fraser University
2005 Ralph Jaekel, University of California, Los Angeles
2004 Issa J. Boullata, McGill University
2003 Robert A. Fernea, University of Texas at Austin
2001 Nikki R. Keddie, University of California, Los Angeles
2000 Arthur E. Goldschmidt, Jr., Pennsylvania State University
Afaf Lutfi Al-Sayyid Marsot, University of California, Los Angeles
1999 Charles Issawi, Princeton University
1998 L. Carl Brown, Princeton University
1997 Farhat J. Ziadeh, University of Washington

J. C. Hurewitz, Columbia University


 Start of Page