MESA - Middle East Studies Association

Jere L. Bacharach Service Award

The MESA Service Award was established in 1996 and was first awarded at MESA’s 1997 annual meeting. In 2004 the award was named for Jere L. Bacharach in honor of his extraordinary service to MESA, many of her sister societies, and the field overall. The award recognizes the contributions of individuals through their outstanding service to MESA or the profession. Service is defined broadly to include work in diverse areas, including but not limited to outreach, librarianship, and film.

2018 Nomination Guidelines

MESA members are invited to submit written nominations for the 2018 Jere L. Bacharach Service Award. Letters of nomination should reflect extraordinary service to MESA or the field. The nominator should complete the official nomination form (coming soon) and include two additional reference letters in support of the nomination. The nominator should also append a short biographical sketch of the nominee and/or include a copy of the nominee's CV. Nominators are reminded that the award is intended for individuals who have served MESA and/or the field in an extraordinary way.

The awardee will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at MESA's annual meeting and will receive a cash award of $1,000.

The nomination deadline for the 2018 Jere L. Bacharach Service Award is June 01, 2018. Nominations should be emailed to or mailed to:

Jere L. Bacharach Service Award
Middle East Studies Association
3542 N Geronimo Ave.
Tucson AZ 85705

Please address questions to:

Sara Palmer
Awards Coordinator
tel 520-333-2577
fax 520-207-3166

2017 Award Recipient

Bassam Haddad
George Mason University

The MESA Board of Directors selected and honored him with a certificate whose text reads:

As an assertive and ambitious visionary, he has created numerous collaborations, networks, and projects among people, young and old, across the many fields and communities of Middle East studies resulting in: the Arab Studies Journal, Quilting Point, Jadaliyya, JadMag, Tadween Publishing with its Middle East Studies Pedagogy Initiative, and the audio production, Status. All these have broadened and diversified the audiences accessing analyses and appreciations of contemporary events and cultures in the region and provided educators with a rich array of discerning and hip new materials for the classroom.

See below for list of previous awardees.

Previous Awardees

2016 Ann Mosely Lesch, The American University in Cairo
2015 Virginia H. Aksan, McMaster University
2014 Günter Meyer, University of Mainz
2012 Erika H. Gilson, Princeton University, Department of Near Eastern Studies
2011 Bruce Craig, University of Chicago

Michael C. Hudson
, Middle East Institute of the National University of Singapore
2010 McGuire Gibson, University of Chicago
2009 Mary Ellen Lane, Council of American Overseas Research Ctrs
2008 Fred McGraw Donner, University of Chicago
2006 Howard A. Reed, University of Connecticut
2005 Ernest N. McCarus, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
2004 Jere L. Bacharach, University of Washington
2002 Jeanne Jeffers Mrad, Center for Maghrib Studies in Tunisia
2001 Elizabeth W. Fernea, University of Texas at Austin
2000 Louisa Moffit, Marist School (Atlanta)
1999 George N. Atiyeh, Library of Congress
1998 Richard L. Chambers, University of Chicago
1997 Ellen-Fairbanks D. Bodman, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

I. William Zartman, Johns Hopkins University

 Start of Page